ISWS Scientists share in 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, Illinois State Water Survey

ISWS Press Release

Original Release December 11, 2007, Rewritten March 13, 2009
ISWS Scientists share in 2007 Nobel Peace Prize
Contact:    Lisa Sheppard - (217) 244-7270, Fax: (217) 333-6540,

Two Illinois State Water Survey atmospheric scientists, Stanley Changnon and Kenneth Kunkel, shared with other collaborators in the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize for their contributions to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

The Nobel Prize was awarded collectively to authors, reviewers, and contributors to a four-part series of IPCC reports assessing the state of science and impacts of global climate change. The IPCC represents more than 180 governments and operates under the auspices of the U.N. Environment Programme and the World Meteorological Organization.

Changnon and Kunkel were invited to make major contributions to the scientific documents. Changnon was hired 57 years ago as the first ISWS climatologist, and is an adjunct professor at the University of Illinois. Kunkle served as Acting Chief in 2007. Both scientists are now retired from the ISWS.

| News |

Illinois State Water Survey

2204 Griffith Dr
Champaign, IL 61820-7463

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2017 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois State Water Survey.
Site Map